12 Days of Christmas Countdown Extravaganza: Day 5

I know I’m a little late with this post but what better way to celebrate the holidays than a two for one treat for my readers.

This year I made my first venture into the world of high tea. I had the pleasure of experiencing two very different yet similar dining experiences at two downtown tea houses. For my first foray into teadom I went to the Windsor Arms Hotel (18 St. Thomas St., 416-971-9666, windsorarmshotel.com) while my second experience was at the Red Tea Box (696 Queen St. W., 416-203-8882).

Tea and cream containers at the Red Tea Box.Photo courtesy of Potatomato

The fifth item on my 12 Days of Christmas Countdown Extravaganza wish list is a gift certificate for tea at the Windsor Arms Hotel and the Red Tea Box.

Located in the snazzy Yorkville neighbourhood, the Windsor Arms Hotel’s French-style tea room satisfied the little old British lady that lives within me. While there I sipped champagne and chai tea and dined on dainty little sandwiches, petit fours, tarts, berries with whipped cream, scones and the most delicious black currant jam I have ever tasted all on their all served on delicate china.

High tea at the Windsor Arms Hotel

Photo courtesy of the Love Collage

For my second experience I went to the Red Tea Box, an Asian fusion resto in Queen West. The tea room at the Red Tea Box is located in an old coach house and features an eclectic design scheme. The menu changes every month and includes vegetarian options for the herbivores out there. If you’re not in the mood to eat you can sip tea in the comfy coach house while reading a book or a newspaper.

Bento boxes at the Red Tea Box

Photo courtesy of Mon Cher Coco

-Septembre

About Septembre

Septembre Anderson is a passionate journalist, cultural critic and public intellectual. Her work has appeared in Flare, FASHION Magazine, TheKit.ca, Complex Canada, Vice Canada and Huffington Post Canada.
This entry was posted in As I See It... and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment