Beauty | Manicure Monday: Caribana Edition

Caribana, officially known as Scotiabank Caribbean Carnival, is one of my favourite times of the year (click here to read an article I wrote about the history of Caribana for Sway magazine). It is a time when Toronto really comes alive to celebrate Caribbean peoples long history on the Canadian content and the emancipation of enslaved Africans. It is a colourful, energetic time of the year and I feel like I really come alive for the three weeks of Caribana. I decided to commemorate the celebration of food, music and culture with an equally colourful manicure.

One of my favourite songs for Caribana 2012 is “Wotless” by KES the Band in which the lead singer Kees sings, “I feel like I just won a million dollars! Everybody watching meh, wearing a million colours!” It was this idea of playing mas and wearing a costume composed of a million colours, rhinestones, sequins, lame and other bright, shiny fabrics that inspired this mani.

For this manicure I used Ardene ACO Nail Polish in Electric Ocean, Maybelline New York Colour Show Nail Lacquer in Fuchsia Fever and Fierce N Tangy, Reitmans Nail Polish in Vivid Aqua, Sally Hansen Diamond Strength No Chip Nail Color in Fuchsia Bling Bling, and my trusty Rimmel London Lasting Finish Pro in Black Satin and  Rimmel London French White Tip Pro in French White as well as some rhinestones that I bought at Michael’s.

My nails before the rhinestone explosion.

-Septembre

About Septembre

Septembre Anderson is a passionate journalist and blogger. Her work has appeared in FASHION Magazine, Slice.ca, Sway Magazine, Filler Magazine and Huffington Post Canada.
This entry was posted in Beauty, Manicure Mondays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

