Beauty | Manicure Monday (on a Tuesday): Not-So-Anti-Valentine’s-Day nails

A hopeless romantic is one of the last things that anyone would call me. I’m probably the only female who hates roses and in grade nine, while all the other girls were writing love sonnets for our poetry assignment, I rebelled by writing free verse poems about descents into depression. Despite my aversion to saccharine professions of love I’ve got a soft(ish) spot for Valentine’s Day. There’s something about taking a day out of our busy schedules to focus on the ones we love that makes my heart swell just a bit.

I wanted to honour the Hallmark holiday with a manicure that wasn’t all hearts, pink and frills so I opted for a remixed design with a heart and crossbones and rhinestones.

A closeup of my accent nails.

I used ACO Nail Polish in Red Sapphire, my trusty Rimmel London Lasting Finish Pro in Black Satin and my ancient Cutex Strong Nail French Manicure in French White and added a red rhinestone and some black pearls.

-Septembre

About Septembre

Septembre Anderson is a passionate journalist, cultural critic and public intellectual. Her work has appeared in Flare, FASHION Magazine, TheKit.ca, Complex Canada, Vice Canada and Huffington Post Canada.
This entry was posted in Beauty, Manicure Mondays and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Beauty | Manicure Monday (on a Tuesday): Not-So-Anti-Valentine’s-Day nails

  1. Pingback: Beauty | Manicure Monday (on Halloween Wednesday): Spooky All Hallow’s Eve nail art | J'adore…

  2. Pingback: Beauty | Manicure Monday (on Halloween Wednesday): Spooky All Hallow’s Eve nail art

Leave a Reply

