Fashion | Five Minutes with… Doutzen Kroes

Model and Victoria’s Secret Angel Doutzen Kroes flew in to Toronto in May on the VS Bombshell tour to promote Victoria’s Secrets 2011 Summer Bras and Swimwear collection (wearing a cute powder pink Azzedine Alaïa dress). Between throwing the first pitch at a Blue Jays game and appearing on CP24 the Dutch model took some time out to answer a few of my questions. See the full interview after the jump.

Photo courtesy of  The Sun

You’ve been a Victoria’s Secret model since 2008. How do the VS shows differ from other shows?
It’s a huge difference. It’s like the biggest difference show on earth―I mean fashion show one earth―and just to be a part of that is amazing. The difference is that you are the superstar on the runway and at normal shows, fashion shows, it’s really about the clothing. A Victoria’s Secret show is about having fun and enjoying the moment as the girl on the runway.

Your son Phyllon was born in January 2011. How has the journey back to model physique been and how does a good bra tie into returning to your pre-pregnancy shape?
I was really excited to go back to work because when you’re a model you really can’t work because you have a belly. It’s different than when you work in an office and can work till almost the day you give birth. So I really took advantage of that and had a great holiday, had a great time being pregnant and then I was really excited to go back to work. I think what’s great about the Bombshell collection is that we support women to feel like a bombshell. Also, when you’ve just had a baby I think it’s great to take your time a little bit to put on beautiful lingerie because that’s what makes you feel different. When you don’t feel like it’s going to be a great day and you put something great on like the Very Sexy Push-up you just feel different when you have a nice set on. It’s a confidence boost.

You’ve had an opportunity to work with so many designers. Is there anyone that you’d like to work with that you haven’t worked with yet?
I like Viktor & Rolf. They’re Dutch and I would like to work with them more often.

What has your most memorable modeling experience been?
I think the Victoria’s Secret show when I got my wings for the first time. When I saw my outfit coming in and I saw the huge wings behind it it was just such a memorable moment. And then to walk with them in the show was just amazing.

What is it like stomping down the runway wearing wings?
It’s a little bit more difficult walking with wings. It was an amazing experience but at the same time it’s difficult to walk in.

Will you be walking in the next Victoria’s Secret show?
Yes and I can’t wait! I missed the last one so I can’t wait.

Doutzen was so personable, sweet, down-to-earth, gorgeous (hence no pictures of me beside the towering glamazon) and a definite trooper. She handled the many interviews with grace and poise and it was definitely a pleasure to meet her.

-Septembre

About Septembre

Septembre Anderson is a passionate journalist, cultural critic and public intellectual. Her work has appeared in Flare, FASHION Magazine, TheKit.ca, Complex Canada, Vice Canada and Huffington Post Canada.
This entry was posted in Fashion and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

