What Is She Wearing | LG Fashion Week: Day 1

Psst! I’ve got a secret. This season is my first full season of LG Fashion Week. Last season I had the pleasure of attending the Denis Gagnon and Amanda Lew Kee fashion shows in addition to some Rogue Fashion Week shows (including Greta Constantine and Juma) but this is my very first season hitting up a full schedule of shows and presentations, and what a first day it was.

Holt Renfrew kicked of the Fall/Winter 2011 season of LG Fashion Week with their “Can’t Live Without Canadian Fashion” show (which showcased eleven labels including Denis Gagnon, Jeremy Laing, Pink Tartan and Smythe) and was followed by IZMA‘s first foray into ready-to-wear and Juma‘s colourful, Asian-inspired prints.

Though I’ve been trying to incorporate more colour into my wardrobe I opted for a more neutral palette yesterday and instead added interest with volume via this amazing H&M cape-style trench. I added a striped H&M shirt with silver button details on the sleeves, a navy thrifted skirt with my non-fashion job interview heels and H&M bag roomy enough to carry around all of my stuff (camera, notebook, bottle of water and a pair of flats).

-Septembre

About Septembre

Septembre Anderson is a passionate journalist, cultural critic and public intellectual. Her work has appeared in Flare, FASHION Magazine, TheKit.ca, Complex Canada, Vice Canada and Huffington Post Canada.
This entry was posted in What Is She Wearing? and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

