One Size Fits All: V Magazines Plus-Size Issue

Last week photos from V Magazine‘s upcoming plus-sized issue hit the internet.  The photos feature models Jacquelyn Jablonski and Crystal Renn, who were shot by photographer Terry Richardson, in what appears to be a pose off.

I wonder if they meant for the spread to look like Fat Girl vs. Skinny Girl?  Either way I kinda, really like the images.

To see more click here.

-Septembre

About Septembre

Septembre Anderson is a passionate journalist, cultural critic and public intellectual. Her work has appeared in Flare, FASHION Magazine, TheKit.ca, Complex Canada, Vice Canada and Huffington Post Canada.
This entry was posted in Magazine News, Model News and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to One Size Fits All: V Magazines Plus-Size Issue

  1. Tacy says:

    While I think it is good that people are starting to realize that it doesn’t take a size 0 to be beautiful, Crystal is not fat. If that is considered big, I am shocked, even though she is plus sized. The other girl is scary thin. I like the pose off. I think in the first picture Jacquelyn did the best and in the second, Crystal.

    • Septembre says:

      I don’t think Crystal is fat at all nor do I think Jacquelyn is scary thin. I do think the ad looks like one model is being pitted against the other which makes one think that it’s presenting a Fat Girl vs. Skinny Girl battle but that’s just my opinion.

  2. Tacy says:

    Yeah, it is somewhat comparing plus sized to thin, but Crystal is not a “fat girl” and that was my point.

  3. Marcie says:

    I’ve always been a fan of fuller-figured models. There’s a great site with many images of Crystal and other plus-size models here:

    http://www.judgmentofparis.com/

    They’re all gorgeous.

    The site’s forum also has thought-provoking discussions about body image and the media.

Leave a Reply

