Guilty Fashion Pleasure: Uggs

Psst. I have a confession to make. I wear Uggs.  Well not Uggs but Ugg-like boots.  Before you judge me let me explain. I live in Toronto where winter temperatures can dip as low as -50°C (that’s -58°F for those on the Fahrenheit scale). My commute to school takes an hour and a half (sometimes more, rarely less) and I spend a lot of that time standing at bus stops waiting for my connecting bus.

In order to avoid frostbite I wear my Ugg-like boots. They are warm and comfy which is extremely important when you’ve got a long commute and spend a large portion of your day in a high stress situation.

I don’t wear them anywhere else but school (I’d die if anyone other than my classmates saw me in them) and I definitely don’t wear them with cut-off shorts or minis.

And it’s not just me.  Look what the editor-in-chief of Flare Lisa Tant (follow her on Twitter @LisaTantwears during the winter.

What are your guilty fashion pleasures?

-Septembre

About Septembre

Septembre Anderson is a passionate journalist, cultural critic and public intellectual. Her work has appeared in Flare, FASHION Magazine, TheKit.ca, Complex Canada, Vice Canada and Huffington Post Canada.
This entry was posted in My Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

