What I’m Clicking: DIY’s, Fashematics And The September Issue

I’ve been quite busy this week with job interviews, meeting deadlines, researching for new stories and all the other things that life throws at you, however, I’ve still managed to find the time to obsessively stalk the internet until the wee hours of the morning.

In my aimless wanderings I’ve stumbled across some really interesting things.

  • DIYing is, in my opinion, one of the best ways to get that look for less and feel like a fashion designer if only for a fleeting moment.  In my aimless internet wanderings I stumbled upon these cute ruffle necklaces made by Jessica over at Oh So Happy Together.

Ruffle necklace

Ruffle chain necklace

My sewing skills are non-existent right now but I’ll be taking an introductory sewing class on the 29th so I should be ready to get sewing just in time for Fall fashion and Back to School!

  • Anna Wintour is an inspiration to me and I am waiting with bated breath for the release of The September Issue.  It will be great to get an inside look at how the fashion bible is run and I’m sure Anna, Grace Coddington and Andre Leon Talley’s wit will make for some very funny moments.  One of the tidbits that has been oft spoke about is the Vogue staff’s ‘gentle’ massacre of Sienna Miller.

Sienna Miller Vogue 2007

Well the Defamer has some clips from the September Issue where Mario Testino and design director Charles Churchward discuss the photoshopping work that they will have to do to make Sienna’s cover shots presentable and Anna Wintour’s stunned-shocked-disgusted-displeased look upon seeing Sienna in the dress she wore for the cover.

The Defamer piece goes on to discuss the media’s displeasure with her:

Sure, Miller may be most famous for baring her tits and sleeping with married men, but it’s gotta suck when you become the celeb punching bag du jour.

A very interesting read.

  • Ever wonder where designers get the inspiration for the some of the fantastical pieces that the y dream up?  Well Fashematics seems to have the answer. 

Combining fashion and mathematics Fashematics does the math so you don’t have to.

Am I being vague enough? Here is an example of what I am cryptically talking about.

Gaultier

Jean Paul Gaultier

Giles Deacon

Giles Deacon

If we’re lucky Fashematics will do the math and explain the inspiration behind Lady GaGa’s many zany outfits.

Enjoy my clickables!

-Septembre

About Septembre

Septembre Anderson is a passionate journalist, cultural critic and public intellectual. Her work has appeared in Flare, FASHION Magazine, TheKit.ca, Complex Canada, Vice Canada and Huffington Post Canada.
This entry was posted in What I'm Clicking This Week and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

