Style Question: Would You Wear An Overly Trendy Garment, Accessory, Shoe?

Everyone and their mama has been seen in the  two tone Alexander Wang pencil dress.

Rihanna wore it first, followed by Paris… Rihanna - Paris

With Julia Restoin-Roifeld not far behind…

Julia Restoin-Roitfeld

And John Legend’s girlfriend Christine Teigen holding up the rear.

Christine Teigen with John Legend

And I’m sure I’ve missed about 13 other ladies. 

So my question to you J’adore… readers: would you wear an article of clothing, accessory, shoe, bag, etc. that everyone is wearing?  Where does stylish end and over-saturated trend begin?

For me fashion is about expressing yourself and I pride myself on dressing differently/creatively (though ennui and a general laziness has put that on hold lately) and when the masses pick up on the something I quickly drop it. 

I don’t want to look like an extra in Star Wars: Revenge of the Clones unless of course Rihanna and I and no one else is wearing said garment, accessory, shoe.  But that’s just me.

So what say you readers? Would you wear something that’s been seen on everybody else even if it is an amazingly gorgeous piece?

-Septembre

About Septembre

Septembre Anderson is a passionate journalist, cultural critic and public intellectual. Her work has appeared in Flare, FASHION Magazine, TheKit.ca, Complex Canada, Vice Canada and Huffington Post Canada.
This entry was posted in Style Question and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Style Question: Would You Wear An Overly Trendy Garment, Accessory, Shoe?

  1. Lucas says:

    Rihanna starts a trend, Paris Hilton follows it, other lesser starlets follow them both.

    In a chronological sense I think they are all being rather true to themselves.

    I can’t imagine wearing something everyone has – even though budget constrains me and I shop at Simons and H&M, I never really see anyone wearing the same thing.

    And as for your laziness and ennui – I don’t think there is enough of either in a theoretical universal extreme to hold you back from expressing yourself. It is innate for you dear – its end would be like stopping time.

Leave a Reply

