Seen On The Scene: The BET Awards

Last night was the BET Awards and the celebrities hit the red carpet in some interesting ensembles.

In attendance was Ciara wearing a burgundy tube ruched tube dress with what looks like pale pink heels.

Ciara

Ciara consistently manages to wear the most unflattering, unfashionable outfits.  The shoes are nice but not with the colour of that dress and that dress is very ugly.  Better lick nect time CiCi.

Beyonce also attended the awards show wearing this multi-coloured 3/4-sleeved mini dress with strong shoulders and jagged hem with purple woven shoes with beaded fringe. 

Beyonce

Beyonce's shoes

Beyonce is another lady who can wear some very interesting outfits.  I know she is trying to channel Sasha Fierce but she is more Miss America than edgy fashionista.  I do like the dress but those earrings and the hair are competing with the dress for centre stage.  And those shoes?  Epic Fail.

Estelle also walked the red carpet wearing a denim strapless dress with white glove and metallic heels.

Estelle

I REALLY love this dress (J’adore…) and I like how she paid tribute to Michael with the single white glove.  The shoes leave a little to be desired but overall a very nice look from Estelle.

Alicia Keys walked the red carpet in a beaded tunic dress with nude heels.

Alicia Keys

I like this look.  A nice tunic dress that shows a lot on the bottom but covers up the top to keep it tasteful and I REALLY love her heels.  I love how she kept her hair a makeup natural looking and under-styled.  The tassel on the clutch I’m not so sure about.

Singer Keri Hilson wore a colourful beaded strapless dress with black satin platform pumps.

Keri Hilson

While I wouldn’t wear this dress myself I like it on Keri and think it suits her out there style.  I would have liked a sexier shoe and the poodle hair is a little much but I like that she took a chance and I think it paid off.

Monica also took a chance on the red carpet in this leather black suit with a ruffled shirt and some very interesting pumps.

Monica

Unfortunately for Monica she took a chance and failed miserably.  The leather suit is nice but with that shirt, purse and hair the outfit just looks like a costume (for what I don’t know).

Miss Keke Palmer wore a beaded sheath dress with black patent leather peep-toe Christian Louboutins.

Keke Palmer

A cute, age appropriate look for little miss budding fashionista.

Letoya Luckett wore this Balmain mini dress with mirrored peep-toe platform booties.

Letoya Luckett

While I’m not a fan of the shoes they could have worked but that dress?  It’s too tight and I don’t like it.  It looks like she got into a horrible fight with a bobcat and lost.

I wasn’t going to post another picture of Lil Mama in one of her get-ups but I couldn’t resist.

Lil Mama

I get the idea behind this ensemble but maybe if she opted for a different shoes and HAIR and I would have thought the outfit was alright.  But not our Lil Mama.  When she goes out she goes all out.  I really like the gloves and how she paired them with the red purse though.

What do you think of the ladies fashion choices?  Whose outfit was a hit and who should have stayed home?

-Septembre

About Septembre

Septembre Anderson is a passionate journalist, cultural critic and public intellectual. Her work has appeared in Flare, FASHION Magazine, TheKit.ca, Complex Canada, Vice Canada and Huffington Post Canada.
This entry was posted in Seen on the Scene and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

