Seen on the Scene: Alicia Keys, Kim Porter, Christina Ricci, Ciara, Lil Mama

Fashionable celebrities were out in full swing last night hitting up gifting suites, the LA premiere of Bruno and other events.

Alicia Keys attended the 22nd ASCAP Rhythm and Soul Awards on Friday night and wore this water coloured empire waist maxi dress.

 Alicia Keys

I love it.  A maxi dress done right.  I love the fit and I love the colours against her skin tone.  I also love how she let this stand out dress stand alone and kept it simple with a nice understated necklace and natural hair.

Kim Porter, Diddy’s sometimes on currently off girlfriend, wore this water colour romper with yellow studded sandals to opening party for “The Rock N Roll of Hip Hop” photo exhibit yesterday.

Kim Porter

I’m on the fence with this one.  While I like the romper and the hair I’m not too sure I like the heels and the belt that she chose. 

Christina Ricci was seen walking the carpet at the LA premiere for the movie “Bruno” wearing this grey dress with exposed back and a gold belt and gold strappy sandals.

Christina Ricci

I think Christina looks great.  I like how she didn’t overpower the dress with a wide belt or statement jewelry or heels and I love the back of the dress.  Open but not over-exposed.

Christian Ricci

Ciara attended at Rap-Up Magazine’s 4th Anniversary and Summer Release Party in Hollywood and wore a black tank, sequined skirt, chain necklace and heels.

Ciara

This outfit is busy and overdone.  It’s only saving grace is the black colour palette.  I understand that she wants to look edgy and represent her alter ego Super C but this is not the way to do it.

Also at the event was rapper and America’s Best Dance Crew judge Lil Mama in a white tank, corset belt, black jeans and a yellow I believe Marc Jacobs clutch.

Lil Mama

Lil Mama is a lot like Bai Ling.  She enjoys being a fashion ‘Don’t’ and that is exactly what this outfit is.  It’s over the top and it gets the kind of attention nobody wants.  I like the four-finger ring and clutch though.

Lastly we have Sandra Bullock at the photocall for her new movie The Proposal in Madrid, Spain wearing a draped belted striped dress and heels.

Sandra Bullock

I really like the draping on the dress, the slit is sexy but not trashy and I really like her  belt and heels.  I would have prefered thicker stripes or none at all but a good look for Sandra Bullock.

Well ladies and gents?  Who was your fashion darling?

-Septembre

About Septembre

Septembre Anderson is a passionate journalist, cultural critic and public intellectual. Her work has appeared in Flare, FASHION Magazine, TheKit.ca, Complex Canada, Vice Canada and Huffington Post Canada.
This entry was posted in Seen on the Scene and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Seen on the Scene: Alicia Keys, Kim Porter, Christina Ricci, Ciara, Lil Mama

  1. Roger says:

    Sandra Bullock knocks me out in that dress! Absolutely delicious, and gorgeous, are two words that immediately come to mind.

Leave a Reply

