Seen On The Scene: Lake Bell, Lydia Hearst, Camilla Belle, Selita Ebanks And More

Sorry for the delay J’adorers but I spend my Wednesdays and Thursdays at a desk in a cubicle from 9:30am – 5pm and only blog on my lunch break.

Anyway, here are the hits and misses for Wednesday night.

Last night was the 2009 Whitney Contemporaries Art Party and Auction New York City and Lake Bell wore this red dress with grey geometric detailing across the front, a neon I’m guessing Alexander McQueen clutch and black heels with a silver band.

Lake Bell

While I appreciate the chance that Lake Bell took I don’t know about this one.  The grey detailing looks like some kind of body armour but it doesn’t seem well executed and when it is paired with the strong shoulders it strays into costume territorie I do like the sandal-bootie hybrid heels with the dress (Christian Louboutin?) but the clutch seems to be like another failed attempt at edgy.

Ali Larter also attended the party and auction and wore this interesting Herve Leger dress with a statement necklace and black strappy heels.

Ali Larter

Ali LarterWhile many hope that the bandage dress is on its last leg I think all it needs is a little rethink and the dress proves that it isn’t going anywhere anytime soon.  I really like this dress and I love that necklace (J’adore…).  I would have preferred a lighter heel and better hair but all in all I think Ali is one of the best dressed of the evening.

Next up is actress Camilla Belle wore this green asymmetrical-one shoulder dress with grey pumps and a snakeskin clutch.

Camilla Belle

This is another one of my favourite looks of the night.  This is a dress that can stand on its own two feet and I like how Camilla let it do that. None of her accessorie choices compete with the design or the colour of the dress.  The shoe choice is a simple pump in a simple colour, the clutch is snakeskin but in a neutral colour and shape and she also opted for simple relatively thin bangles.  Another good look.

Alexis Bledel wore this geometric Herve Leger dress with boxy clutch and sandals.

Alexis Bledel

The ladies really represented for Herve Leger last night.  Another fashion hit.  The dress is very tribal (for lack of a better word) and I like the pairing with the heel and the clutch.  I also like how she also let the dress be the focal point by opting for simpler accessory choices.

Victoria Secret angel Selita Ebanks wore this vest with liquid leggings and strappy heels to the event.

Selita Ebanks

I was always told that it’s better to be overdressed than underdressed when going anywhere.  I don’t think she was taught that lesson.  While the outfit is alright at best (I’m not a fan of the white detailing on the shoe) she is underdressed and that garners her a ‘miss’ stamp.  Nice bracelets though.

Lydia Hears wore this semi-sheer royal blue one-shoulder dress with a beaded neckline with black peep-toe heels and clutch.

Lydia Hearst

I really like the entire outfit but I think her hairstylist needs to be fired.  The hairstyle reminds me a bit of Michelle Pfeiffer’s hair in Scarface (and I mean that in the bad way).

Lastly is Melissa George in this white mock turtleneck mini Herve Leger dress with white sandals and an armful of bangles.

Melissa George

Melissa GeorgeI love the futuristic look of this dress, I love the back, I love the sleek pulled back hair with the red mouth but I don’t love those white shoes.  I’m not a big fan of white shoes and these are not the exception.

What do you think?  Which outfits are hits and which are misses?

-Septembre

About Septembre

Septembre Anderson is a passionate journalist, cultural critic and public intellectual. Her work has appeared in Flare, FASHION Magazine, TheKit.ca, Complex Canada, Vice Canada and Huffington Post Canada.
This entry was posted in Seen on the Scene and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Seen On The Scene: Lake Bell, Lydia Hearst, Camilla Belle, Selita Ebanks And More

  1. I guess you will want to add a facebook button to your blog. I just bookmarked this article, but I had to make it by hand. Just my 2 cents.

Leave a Reply

