CFDA Awards Red Carpet: Blake Lively, Ashley Olsen, Heidi Klum and More

So the CFDA Awards was tonight and the fashion elite came out to celebrate eachother.

 Ashley Olsen was there in this orange dress with embroidered detailing with black heels.Ashley Olsen

I must admit that I don’t understand the style aesthetic of the Olsen twins.  The dress is nice but would have been much nicer had it actually fit the way the designer had intended (and had she styled her hair).  Ho-hum.

Fashion designer Betsey Johnson was also there in this black and pink outfit with bedazzled Balmain sandals.

Betsey Johnson

Now Betsey Johnson’s is a style aesthetic that I understand.  I think she looks cool, fresh and fun and I like it.

Gossip Girl‘s Blake Lively, who presented the CFDA Young Designer’s award, was in attendance wearing a Barbie pink strapless dress with nude peep-toe shoes.

Blake Lively

I like the cut and style of the dress but I do not like the colour.  I think that the particular shade of pink loaks a bit tacky especially considering the even that she’s wearing it to.  Maybe some diamond bracelets or silver accents could have saved this outfit.

Claire Danes wore this body-con black gown with diamond earings and bracelets.

Claire Danes

This dress is okay.  I like the cut, especially at the bust, and I like the simple accessories but I would have preferred a solid black dress instead of the stripes on this one. So neither at hit or miss from me.

Also in attendance was model Diane Kruger in this belted red dress with black floral shoulders, navy clutch and black t-bar sandals.

Diane Kruger

While I would have preferred a different choice of footwear I really like this outfit.  I like the red dress with the black accents (a different take on the ‘strong’ shoulder) and I’m assuming the clutch looked black without the flash.  One of my favourite looks of the night.

Doutzen Kroes wore this red flamenco dancer-ish dress with a champagne lining.

Doutzen Kroes

I really like Doutzen Kroes but she is one of those models who doesn’t always look fabulous when she’s not working.  I don’t like anything about this dress but she seemed to really enjoy wearing it.

Heidi Klum wore this very on trend silver crumpled I’m going to guess Prada asymmetrical dress, with a large cocktail ring, even larger statement earrings, a baby bump and blatform sandals.

Heidi Klum

Despite what Karl Lagerfeld had to say about her I like this ensemble and I think the baby bump keeps this dress from looking off.

Hilary Rhoda was in attendance wearing what looks like a Rodarte asymmetrical dress with some statement danglies, silver purse and sandals.

Hilary Rhoda

I’m on the fence with this one.  I know I like the shoes, clutch and earrings but I’m not too sure how I feel about the dress.  Some moments I love it and some moments I hate it.

Actress Kerry Washington wore an grey v-neck gown in an interesting fabric with a sparkly clutch and diamond bracelet.

Kerry Washington

Kerry Washington reminds me of the movie Groundhog Day.  I’ve seen her wear this outfit with the hair and accessory choice many times before.  While she does look stunning I’d like to see her take some chances.

Kirsten Dunst wore this Rodarte bondage-esque dress with grey booties.

Kirsten Dunst

The dress is hot and so are the shoes.  Together and on Kirsten Dunst?  I’m not too sure.  Do I critique the outfit or how the outfit looks on the wearer?  With her complexion the various greys wash her out and she looks more like a seagull then a fearless, fierce femme fatale.

Fashion designer Rachel Roy wore this pastel dress with irridescent dress from her Fall 2009 collection.

Rachel Roy

Rachel Roy is a beautiful woman who usually looks frumpy however today she looks stunning.  I love the dress, clutch bangle and the shoes? J’adore…

All in all I think the outfits were pretty tame.  I guess the Costume Institute Gala is the event for that.

What do you think of the ladies fashion choices? Favourites? Misses? Sound off in the comments section.

-Septembre

About Septembre

Septembre Anderson is a passionate journalist, cultural critic and public intellectual. Her work has appeared in Flare, FASHION Magazine, TheKit.ca, Complex Canada, Vice Canada and Huffington Post Canada.
This entry was posted in Seen on the Scene and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to CFDA Awards Red Carpet: Blake Lively, Ashley Olsen, Heidi Klum and More

  1. zoe says:

    wow thease dresses r pretty not as good as mine tho 🙂 x

  2. Pingback: Upper Street Blog » Fabulous Glossy Nudes

Leave a Reply

