Seen on the Scene: Style Round Up (of sorts)

 

The fashion forward were out in droves this week at events such as P.S. Arts Bag Lunch, 6th annual Do Something Awards, House of Harlow 1960 & Clandestine Industries Switch Boutique Fashion Show.  Here are the hits and missed from the events that  I haven’t already covered for the week.

First up, I have a surprise for you from The Taking of Pelham 123screening at the Mann Village Theatre in Los Angeles.  Bai Ling looking…good.

Bai Ling

We’re used to one fashion disaster after another from this actress but (from the neck down) she looked really nice. The tattered skirt may be a little Stars on Ice but I think that she when you consider the things that she has worn in the past this is a style ‘hit’.

Also at the screening was reality TV star Kim Kardashian.

Kim Kardashian

I LOVE the jacket (J’adore…) and the clutch and I love the proportions of the outfit (the strong shoulders coupled with a formfitting skirt and bustier) but I’m not a fan of the colour/pattern on the bustier or that detailing on the front of the skirt.  I still think that it’s a nice relaxed look though.

Supermodel Cindy Crawford attended the Grand Opening of the W Hotel in Fort Lauderdale, Florida.

Cindy Crawford

She wore this purple beaded dress with some fierce shoes with simple earrings and a gold bangle.  I like the look and I’ll keep my fingers crossed and hope I look this good at 43 too. 

Also, at the event was Gossip Girl actress Blake Lively.

Blake Lively

When I first looked t this picture I really didn’t like the dress as I am not a fan of ruching and gathering.  However, when I look at how dress looks on her with the accessories that she has chosen I like the look.  While the dress is a bit busy with the ruching and ruffles on the front the colour keeps it from looking hectic and she kept it simple with the hair accessories and the shoes. So in retrospect I like.

The ladies came out for the P.S. Arts Bag Lunch and they kept it relxed and chic.

Rebecca Gayheart in a White Viktor & Rolf dress and Kristin Davis in her own Kristin Davis Collection looked like two ladies who lunch and I mean that in a good way.  Just two women in very uncomplicated, stylish dresses with gorgeous hair to match.

Rebecca Gayheart (left) and Sex and the City's Kristin Davis

Rebecca Gayheart (left) and Sex and the City's Kristin Davis

Also at the event was Kerry Washington and Joy Bryant.

Paz de la Huerta (left) and Joy Bryant

I love Kerry’s outfit though I think it’s a little dark for an afternoon event in the park. And I love Joy’s outfit (minus the purse which I’m hoping is something she’s thinking of purchasing and not something she paired with the dress).  I love the colour, the beading around the neck, the rope belt and the very simple, delicate necklace.

Zoe Saldana was out and about promoting the new Star Trek movie at the Four Seasons Hotel in Mexico City, Mexico yesterday.

Zoe Saldana

Zoe is a woman who not only knows what looks good but also knows what looks good on her and this white dress looks good on her. She looks very relaxed yet elegant in this off white dress with a sweetheart neckline sans accessories.  J’adore…

And next we have a very pregnant Nicole Richie at the House of Harlow 1960 and Clandestine Industries Switch Boutique Fashion Show.

Nicole Richie (with Pete Wentz of Fall Out Boy)

Nicole Richie (with Pete Wentz of Fall Out Boy)

I think she looks great.  Love the entire look especially those bondage-esque strappy heels and the gigantic ring.  And because she’s Nicole Richie I even like the headband on her despite what I may have said before.

And Robin Anton, the founder of and choreographer for the Pussycat Dolls was also there.

Robin Anton

I actually like this outfit and would definitely wear it.  I love the drama that the vest creates and how it dresses up the tank top and jeans.  And the shoes are edgy but in a subtle, muted colur so as not to compete with the vest.  J’adore…

Lastly, we have rapper and judge on America’s Best Dance Crew Lil Mama.

 Lil Mama

 Lil Mama is like the Bai Ling of the hip hop/pop world who loves to push fashion boundaries so when I say that I kinda like this outfit I’m saying that because I’m comparing it to things that she has worn in the past.  That tie dyed pink and dray vest (?) is interesting but other than that I like the outfit.  The hair and makeup? I hate.

So there you have it ladies and gentleman your style roundup.

Let me know which outfits you love, hate or are on the fence about in the comments section.

-Septembre

About Septembre

Septembre Anderson is a passionate journalist, cultural critic and public intellectual. Her work has appeared in Flare, FASHION Magazine, TheKit.ca, Complex Canada, Vice Canada and Huffington Post Canada.
This entry was posted in Seen on the Scene and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

