FASHION Through the Ages

 

I found myself flipping through the front cover archives of FASHION magazine and it was like a visual history of the publications growth and progression from 1977 to present. 

From the days when it was called Toronto Life Fashion magazine and published seasonally, four times a year, to present day where it is published 10 issues a year it was also an interesting look at not only style but at magazine cover trends. 

There was a progression of fonts, word placing, cropping, the number of models on the cover and models hair colours (brunettes seem to outnumber blondes) and it also brought back a personal memory when I saw the first issue that I bought in February 2007.

Below are some of my favourite covers.

 

I'm not sure why I like this cover but I do. Might be the pose or the 80s love of red. 
FASHION 1982. I’m not sure why I like this cover but I do. Might be the pose or the 80s love of red.

 

Fashion, Summer 1983. I think I like this one because of the way that it represents the style of that era. 

FASHION Summer 1983. I think I like this one because of the way that it represents the style of that era.

Fashion, Winter 1987.  I love the black and white with the sepia tint photograph and I like how it reminds me of Marky Mark and the Funky Bunch's music videos.

FASHION Winter 1987. I love the black and white with the sepia tint photograph and I like how it reminds me of Marky Mark and the Funky Bunch's music videos.

Fashion, April 1992. The headline speaks for itself...Simplicity.

FASHION April 1992. The headline speaks for itself...Simplicity.

Fashion March 1996. I really like he simlicity and the starkness of this photo. Yellow and white without looking garrish.

FASHION March 1996. I really like he simplicity and the starkness of this photo. Yellow and white without looking garrish.

This is great fashion photography. Great cropping, lighting and pose from the model. Plus it reminfs me of Madonna's 'Human Nature' music video for some reason.

FASHION Summer 2000. This is great fashion photography. Great cropping, lighting and pose from the model. Plus it reminds me of Madonna's 'Human Nature' music video or a Tom Ford ad.

Fashion February 2005.  Canada's own Jessica Stam looking like looking Marily Monroe-esque. Stark, simple, beautiful.

FASHION February 2005. Canada's own Jessica Stam looking Marilyn Monroe-esque. Stark, simple, beautiful.

Fashion March 2007.  This is the first Fashion issue that I ever bought.  I was seduced by the colours, the pose and the freshness of the model's face.

FASHION March 2007. This is the first FASHION Magazine issue that I ever bought. I was seduced by the colours, the pose and the freshness of the model's face.

Fashion October 2007. Why not?

FASHION October 2007. Why not?

For more covers click here.

-Septembre

About Septembre

Septembre Anderson is a passionate journalist, cultural critic and public intellectual. Her work has appeared in Flare, FASHION Magazine, TheKit.ca, Complex Canada, Vice Canada and Huffington Post Canada.
This entry was posted in Fashion History and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

