Quote, Unquote | Lee Tulloch, on having nothing to wear, in Fabulous Nobodies

“When I say I have nothing to wear, I mean that I have nothing to wear that is exactly the thing to wear in those exact circumstances. I have nothing to wear―nothing― I am seeking the thing to wear that belongs absolutely to that one moment when fashion and occasion and mood come together in space and time.”

-Lee Tulloch, on having “nothing to wear”, in the novel Fabulous Nobodies

How 80s is the cover for Fabulous Nobodies?

Photo courtesy of FilmoFilia

Life can get pretty hectic and reading is my escape from the demands of the everyday. Lately I have been escaping in Fabulous Nobodies, a novel written by author and fashion journalist Lee Tulloch about “a girl who’s in love with her clothes” or more specifically a novel about the 80s New York City club scene told through the eyes of “doorwhore” Reality Nirvana Tuttle. According to National Post columnist and Style editor Nathalie Atkinson (who recommended the novel) and the British newspaper the Daily Mail the novel is in development for a feature film directed by R.J. Cutler, the man behind Vogue documentary The September Issue. Could this “revenge novel” written by the fired Australian Harper’s Bazaar editor be another Devil Wears Prada? Only time will tell.

-Septembre

About Septembre

Septembre Anderson is a passionate journalist and blogger. Her work has appeared in FASHION Magazine, Slice.ca, Sway Magazine, Filler Magazine and Huffington Post Canada.
This entry was posted in Quote Unquote and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Quote, Unquote | Lee Tulloch, on having nothing to wear, in Fabulous Nobodies

  1. polishpedia says:

    I have never heard that quote from Lee Tulloch before but it is sooooo perfect. It took the words that I have never been able to express except through “I have nothing to wear” straight from my mouth.

    Love your manicures that you post on monday. You probably didn’t know that I follow them through twitter and such. Thanks again and I look forward to seeing your pins, blog posts, and tweets.
    <3

    Sincerely,

    ~Jocelyn (Nail Artist @ Polishpedia)

Leave a Reply

