Beauty | Manicure Monday: Neon nails and lots of stripes

My foray into the world of gel nails continues with this bright, stripe-y made for summer manicure. I went to the salon to get these talons shortened and am relatively happy/adjusted to the length though I’m going to have to make another trip back to get them sharpened (RAWR!).

This manicure is a bit of a dual effort. The nail technician at the salon painted the base and I added the nail art. I added the colour dots to the “tribal” design (“tribal” as in “what tribe?”) because the black-white-orange combo looked a little too Halloween for me.The base is China Glaze in Sun Worshiper and the designs were done with O.P.I. Nail Lacquer in Puma Noir, Rimmel London French White Tip Pro in French White Sally Hansen Insta-Dri Fast in Sonic Bloom and a turquoise nail art pen I bought on eBay.

Please ignore the nail polish on the palm of my hand. I am a nail ARTIST (in-training) after all.

This manicure marks the first time that I’ve used China Glaze nail polish and I’m in love. This is the best neon nail polish that I’ve used. While most neons require at least five coats or a white base to make the colour really pop the China Glaze polish needed only three coats to achieve in your face colour and the colour looks illuminated from behind in the sunlight. Sun Worshiper indeed. This manicure also marks the first time that I’ve used Essie’s Good To Go Rapid Dry Top Coat. While the polish doesn’t dry as fast as Seche Vite’s Dry Fast Top Coat the top coat does dry faster than then average top coat and is more affordable and has better availability than Seche Vite. Since this is the first time that I’ve used Essie’s Good To Go I can’t report on whether it gets gloopy as quickly as S.V. does but I’ll keep you guys posted.

I still have some cleaning up to do but I wanted to share this with you all STAT.

 

 

Observation: One thing I’ve noticed about my gel nails is that tip wear and chipped polish seem to be a thing of the past. The nail polish seems to bond really well to the nails which means I don’t have to paint my nails twice a week (though I do it anyway).

-Septembre

About Septembre

Septembre Anderson is a passionate journalist and blogger. Her work has appeared in FASHION Magazine, Slice.ca, Sway Magazine, Filler Magazine and Huffington Post Canada.
This entry was posted in Beauty, Manicure Mondays and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Beauty | Manicure Monday: Neon nails and lots of stripes

  1. I’ve been seeing this color everywhere & I want it so badly! Love the nail design too :) xo

Leave a Reply

