Beauty | Manicure Monday: Red and gold bindi nail art

I was extremely excited when the idea for this manicure popped into my head. I’ve always been in love with the artistry, beauty and creativity of South Asian jewellery, clothing, architecture and body adornment and I thought I had finally found a way to tap into that without looking like I was in costume. That excitement turned to doubt after I did some Googling and Ebaying for bindis. Was my glitzy mani idea cultural appropriation? This Tumblr post didn’t help much. It was after a discussion with my boyfriend who reminded me that South Asian culture was also a part of me that my reluctance waned. A bit.

For this manicure I used Essie in Good As Gold (from their soon-to-be-released Mirror Metallics collection. Look for swatches and my review next Monday) and gold and red bindis that I bought in Little India in Toronto.

-Septembre

About Septembre

Septembre Anderson is a passionate journalist and blogger. Her work has appeared in FASHION Magazine, Slice.ca, Sway Magazine, Filler Magazine and Huffington Post Canada.
This entry was posted in Beauty, Manicure Mondays and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

