Legendary: Rest In Peace Michael Jackson

Michael Jackson

I was watching HGTV (Home and Garden Television) when my sister texted me,

“I just heard Michael Jackson died.”

Any positive feelings – of relaxation, enjoying the beginning of my weekend, happiness that summer was finally here – were gone.  My heart and my face dropped.

Michael Jackson Bad

She must be lying.  This is just another one of those sick rumours that people like to pass around that she heard from somewhere.

I changed the channel to the news because I expected that to be the news of the decade.  Nothing about Michael just news about the city workers strike.  Must be a rumour, I thought, but a piece of me, my heart, knew it was true.

 And it was.

Michael Jackson Toe Stand

Yesterday I had no words.  I felt numb.  I just wanted to be alone.  No music, no TV, no internet, no blog.  I didn’t want to remember and I definitely didn’t want to smile.

I felt sadness throughout all of me.  Not just for me but for all his fans all over the WORLD, for those dancers who were on the path to fulfilling their dreams and dancing with The Man at his final concert, for his family and friendswho knew him intimately and especially for his three young children and his parents who have to bury a child.

Michael Jackson Moonwalker

And I felt guilty for feeling so much pain.  I felt selfish and ungrateful and like I had taken the man and his immense talent for granted.

Selfishly, like many others, I thought he would be here for a long time.  I thought I had decades left of his talent.  He was going on tour, working on a new move to top the moonwalk, Michael was back.

I mean, he had been singing and dancing and uniting us all with his music for 45 years.  I had practically been raised on Michael Jackson and he had always been a part of my life and I expected him to be there throughout.  And now he’s gone.

He may not have been the perfect man but he was the ultimate entertainer.  His gift to us was his music and his dancing but we wanted more.  We always wanted more.

And now he rests in peace.Michael Jackson

 

For all the people who knew him personally, his family and intimate friends, be strong.  The man may not live on but he has given us so much of to remember him by so let’s hold on to that.

 

He may be gone but never forgotten.  He will be truly missed.

 

Michael Jackson*Excuse my picture choices but these were some of my Michael Memories.

-Septembre

About Septembre

Septembre Anderson is a passionate journalist and blogger. Her work has appeared in FASHION Magazine, Slice.ca, Sway Magazine, Filler Magazine and Huffington Post Canada.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Legendary: Rest In Peace Michael Jackson

  1. mike says:

    I loved his music. I grew up with his music in the 1980s. Thriller (1982) was an album that everyone had to own. Even almost 30 years later, the album is still great. Thank you for all of the music you have given us over the years. I wish his family and friends the best in trying to recover from this.

  2. Pingback: One Year Later: Rest In Peace Michael Jackson « J’adore…

  3. Pingback: In Memoriam | One Year Later: Rest In Peace Michael Jackson

Leave a Reply

