Seen on the Scene: Weekly Style Roundup

I’ve been looking at pictures from various parties, galas, fetes and thel like this week and I’ve gathered some pictures of some amazing outfits and some not so amazing outfits.

First up model Natasha Poly in Dior at a dinner that Dior and Elle magazine held in honour of French actress Marion Cotillard.

 Natasha Poly

I think she looks gorgeous in this navy blue empire waist dress with wavy locks.  And while old style rules warned against mixing navy blue and brown I think the clutch, paired with the fabulously gaudy cocktail ring, only adds to the relaxed elegance look.

Next up is actress Kerry Washington in Dolce & Gabbana at Stefano and Domenico’s party “Fabulous Night in Cannes”.

Kerry Washington

While I love a shiny, statement dress I don’t love this one.  The bubble shoulders make the dress look like it’s a too big 80s prom dress and that material does nothing for Ms. Washington’s figure.  She’s wearing a great shoe though.

Also at the “Fabulous Night in Cannes” party was Pixie Geldof on D&G.

Pixie Geldof

I love the entire look from the halter, to the pixie cut to the simple accessories to the dark lipstick.  Edgy elegance.

Here is model Hilary Rhoda at the 37th Annual Fifi Awards, the Oscar’s of the fragrance industry thrown by The Fragrance Foundation, in the blush Jacques Fath dress.

Hilary Rhoda

I love the origami detailing at the bust of the dress though I think she should have paired the dress with a different shoe (and from what I can see I’m not a big fan of the bracelet).  I think the shoes and the bracelet are too busy and detract from the dress.

Here is singer Kelis at theMuseum of Modern Art’s 41st Annual Party in the Garden.

Kelis

I completely understand that Kelis is a very creative type and I would have loved the outfit even the funky purse…if it wasn’t for that jacket.  I love thrifting just as much as the next gal but this particular find just isn’t working for me.  On the plus side, thank you Kelis for showing women all over the world that pregnancy can be sexy and that it doesn’t have to be frumpy, matronly or signify the death of style.

I’ll admit I don’t know who this man is, his name is DJ Cassidy so I’m going to go out on a limb and guess that he’s a DJ, but I love his outfit.

DJ Cassidy

It’s fun and a perfect fit and that’s enough for me.

-Septembre

About Septembre

Septembre Anderson is a passionate journalist and blogger. Her work has appeared in FASHION Magazine, Slice.ca, Sway Magazine, Filler Magazine and Huffington Post Canada.
This entry was posted in Seen on the Scene and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

